Read the text to learn basic information about the 2010 FIFA World Cup. Then complete the gap text below by filling in the missing words from the text.
The 2010 FIFA World Cup will be the 19th FIFA World Cup, the premier international football tournament. It is scheduled to take place between June 11th and July 11th, 2010 in South Africa. The 2010 FIFA World Cup will be the culmination of a qualification process that began in August 2007 and involved 204 of the 208 FIFA national teams. As such, it matches the 2008 Summer Olympics as the sports event with the most competing nations.
This will be the first time that the tournament has been hosted by an African nation, after South Africa beat Morocco and Egypt in an all-African bidding process. Italy are the defending champions. The draw for the finals took place on December 4th, 2009 in Cape Town. This is the first World Cup that does not include any teams that are qualifying for the first time.
All in all, 32 teams will participate in the 2010 FIFA World Cup: South Africa, Argentina, England, Germany, Mexico, Nigeria, United States, Australia, Uruguay, Korea Republic, Algeria, Serbia, France, Greece, Slovenia, Ghana, Netherlands, Italy, Brazil, Spain, Denmark, Paraguay, Korea DPR, Switzerland, Japan, New Zealand, Côte d'Ivoire, Honduras, Cameroon, Slovakia, Portugal and Chile.
  • The FIFA World Cup is an international ⁠.
  • The host of the 2010 FIFA World Cup will be ⁠.
  • The FIFA has national teams, but only 204 participated in the qualification process.
  • The FIFA World Cup has never before been hosted by an ⁠.
  • Serbia, France, Greece, Slovenia and Ghana are some of the 32 participating ⁠.
If you're interested in learning more on the topic, watch the following video to hear about the first FIFA World Cup and its trophy.

Learn more ...