Holidays in Australia

Public holidays in Australia are declared on a state and territory basis. That means that each state of Australia determines their public holidays schedule. However, there are also some national public holidays that are observed in every Australian state, like New Year's Day, Easter or Anzac Day. Traditionally, workers were entitled to get a day off work on a public holiday. Recently, this tradition has changed a little. For example, businesses that are normally open on a public holiday may require employees to work on that day. In this section you will learn more about the most important holidays in Australia. Read about their history and how they are observed and celebrated by the people.



Learn more ...