Holidays in the USA

United States of America
The USA doesn't have national holidays in the sense of days on which all employees receive a day off work and all business is halted. Each American state government determines the official holidays for their state. Malls, shopping centres and most other retail businesses close only on Easter, Thanksgiving and Christmas, but remain open on all other holidays. The "big seven" holidays in the USA are: New Year's Day, Easter, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving, and Christmas. In this section you will learn more about the most important holidays in the USA. Read about their history and how they are observed and celebrated by the American people.



Learn more ...