Holidays in the UK

United Kingdom
The UK comprises the countries England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales. Some holidays, like New Year's Day, Easter or Christmas Day, are public holidays in all four countries. Other holidays, however, like St. Patrick's Day, aren't public holidays in the whole UK. There are also holidays observed in the UK that are not (yet) established by law. In this section you will learn more about the most important holidays in the UK. Read about their history and how they are observed and celebrated by the people.



Learn more ...