Queen's Birthday


  • In general: the second Monday in June
  • 2011 date: June 13
  • 2012 date: June 11
  • 2013 date: June 10
  • 2014 date: June 9
  • 2015 date: June 8


The Queen's Birthday is the day on which the birthday of the monarch of the Commonwealth realms is officially celebrated. Generally it does not fall on the day of the monarch's actual birthday. The birthday of the current sovereign, Elizabeth II, is April 21. Australia, except for Western Australia, observes the Queen's Birthday on the second Monday in June, marking it with a public holiday. The day has been celebrated since 1788. Until 1936 it was held on the actual birthday of the Monarch, but after the death of George V it was decided to keep the date on the second Monday in June.

Traditional observance

The only civic occasion of note associated with the holiday is the release of the "Queen's Birthday honours list". It names new members of the Order of Australia and other Australian honours. Also, Australian Football League clubs have traditionally played a game at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on that day each year since 2001. The Queen's Birthday weekend was long the traditional time for public fireworks displays in Australia. Although they still occur, the tradition has recently declined.

Learn more ...